Periodically, the Alliance recognizes one or more individuals for achievements that positively affect children or children’s programs.

These actions are critical to Oregon’s mission to support child wellbeing and success, also contributing to healthy families and communities.


  • Recipients are primarily Public Officials, but may also be Community Members, or Business Leaders
  • Recipients have completed a specific action, or series of actions, which have positively affected children, or providers of children’s services.


  • To recognize individuals who have made a priority to champion children, and who have taken a significant action to:
  • achieve the goal of child wellbeing, or
  • supported quality programs and services for children.


The membership of OACP will identify potential nominees and make the final determination on recipient(s).

childrens champion pic 3

Janet Arenz, Executive Director of the Oregon Alliance of Children’s Programs and Senator Richard Devlin (D-19)

childrens champion picture 1

Ann Craig, Executive Director of Jackson Street Youth Services, Representative Andy Olson (R-15), and Janet Arenz, Executive Director of the Oregon Alliance of Children’s Programs

childrens champion pic 2

Janet Hamada, Executive Director of The Next Door, Inc., Representative Gene Whisnant (R-53), and Janet Arenz, Executive Director of the Oregon Alliance of Children’s Programs



2015 Award Winners

sen devlin pic Sen. Richard Devlin (D-19)
rep olson pic Rep. Andy Olson (R-15)
rep whisnant pic Rep. Gene Whisnant (R-53)

Past Winners

2015 – Sen. Richard Devlin, Rep. Andy Olson, Rep. Gene Whisnant
2013 – Sen. Rob Monroe, Rep. Betty Komp, Rep. Sherrie Sprenger
2011 – Rep. Nancy Nathanson, Rep. John Huffman, Rep. Michael Dembrow
2009 – Rep. Bill Kennemer, Sen. Joanne Verger, Sen. Chip Shields
2008 – Judge Rebecca Orf
2007 – Rep. Tina Kotek, Rodney Cook (Director, Clackamas County Commission on Children and Families)
2006 – Bob Jester (Director, Oregon Youth Authority)
2005 – Sen. Betsy Johnson, Rep. Linda Flores
2004 – Rep. Billy Dalto, Sen. Avel Gordly, Sen. Margaret Carter